New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 28 January 2008 - 06:43 AM

HI EVERYBODY.

I AM A NEWBIE AT THE FORUM.
I WAS THINKING OF USING LENSES FROM THE PENTAX DSLR RANGE WITH MY K3 CAMERA.
THESE LENSES ARE SHARP,THEY ARE AFFORDABLE COMPARED TO A PRIME CINE LENS AND THEY ARE DESIGNED FOR 3:2 RATIO LIKE THE STANDARD 16MM IMAGE RATIO.
THE FLANGE FOCAL DISTANCE OF PENTAX DSLR'S IS SIMILAR TO THAT OF A K3 IF I ' M NOT MISTAKEN.THE PROBLEM IS THE M42 MOUNT THAT HAS TO REPLACED.
HAS ANYONE TRIED SOMETHING LIKE THIS BEFORE ,IS IT POSSIBLE ? ARE THERE ANY ADAPTERS FOR PENTAX KAF2 MOUNT LENSES ?

#2 Saul Rodgar

Saul Rodgar
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1682 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 28 January 2008 - 11:26 AM

HI EVERYBODY.

I AM A NEWBIE AT THE FORUM.
I WAS THINKING OF USING LENSES FROM THE PENTAX DSLR RANGE WITH MY K3 CAMERA.
THESE LENSES ARE SHARP,THEY ARE AFFORDABLE COMPARED TO A PRIME CINE LENS AND THEY ARE DESIGNED FOR 3:2 RATIO LIKE THE STANDARD 16MM IMAGE RATIO.
THE FLANGE FOCAL DISTANCE OF PENTAX DSLR'S IS SIMILAR TO THAT OF A K3 IF I ' M NOT MISTAKEN.THE PROBLEM IS THE M42 MOUNT THAT HAS TO REPLACED.
HAS ANYONE TRIED SOMETHING LIKE THIS BEFORE ,IS IT POSSIBLE ? ARE THERE ANY ADAPTERS FOR PENTAX KAF2 MOUNT LENSES ?

This subject has been discussed before. You can use older, cheaper and good quality Pentax m42 mount lenses directly on the K3 without having to change the mount or use adaptors. It works really well, but you will double your focal lenght no matter what 35mm lens you use on 16mm, so you know. DSLR lenses I have not heard anyone working with, it could work if they are all manual, no internal camera-computer controlled aperture and/ or focus only, and they have a compatible mount.

#3 Will Montgomery

Will Montgomery
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2030 posts
  • Producer
  • Dallas, TX

Posted 28 January 2008 - 01:03 PM