Photo

How do you determine the latitude of a stock?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Doron Kipper

Doron Kipper

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Other

Posted 15 February 2008 - 05:39 AM

I'm a student shooting my first ever film project. I'm using Kodak 7250 Color Reversal...how do I determine the latitude? For that matter, how do I determine the latitude of any stock?

Say that I use my meter and put it to someone's face...it read F5.6....so I set my lens to 5.6

I have wall that reads F 11, the sky outside reading F22, and a corner of the room reading F2.8

How will each show up on color reversal? And say I'm using Kodak Vision2 500T...how would these objects react differently if I used that negative stock?

#2 John Holland

John Holland
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2248 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • London England

Posted 15 February 2008 - 02:13 PM

You have very little latitude you have to get your highlight exposure spot on really, reversal stock doesnt like being over exposed .What you have said about the huge range of exposure in the room? will be awful with reversal you need to balance that means lighting to bring things within the latitude of the stock . If you shot with the neg stock loads more forgiving but still need some lighting to balance . hope that helps.

#3 Xavier Plaza

Xavier Plaza
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Guayaquil - Ecuador

Posted 15 February 2008 - 03:55 PM

I'm a student shooting my first ever film project. I'm using Kodak 7250 Color Reversal...how do I determine the latitude? For that matter, how do I determine the latitude of any stock?

Say that I use my meter and put it to someone's face...it read F5.6....so I set my lens to 5.6

I have wall that reads F 11, the sky outside reading F22, and a corner of the room reading F2.8