Photo

To all cinematographers, where does it start?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel Dahlman

Daniel Dahlman

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 24 February 2008 - 07:51 PM

Hello everyone,

I have been a low budget HDV DOP for several films now and am now looking for a career in cinematography. I know composition, i know the basics of lighting. I have a BA degree and graduted from several short courses. I want to be the best cinematographer I can be. And most of all help out the dying film industry over here in Australia. But its so confusing to know where to start. I want to learn everything! I dont know much at the moment aside from the Z1, VIP and a few lower DV and HDV models. How can I learn more? I research all that I can do and read a lot but theres no school for cinematography over here! I have joined a series of groups, but what else can I do? What can I do to learn everything? Lighting, lenses, 35mm, 16mm, HD. I can't afford more school. what do I do?

#2 Jonathan Bowerbank

Jonathan Bowerbank
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2815 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:04 PM

Being a Camera Assistant for various DP's and varying camera packages has really exposed me to all those aspects of cinematography. If you network and get onto various sets as a 2nd or 1st AC, you'll really receive a baptism by fire, so to speak, and really kick into gear as far as learning the equipment goes.

Otherwise, there are a lot of books out there.

#3 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director
  • El Paso, Texas

Posted 24 February 2008 - 10:27 PM

To all cinematographers, where does it start?