#1 Anton Delfino

Anton Delfino
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Other
  • San Francisco

Posted 03 March 2008 - 02:09 AM

So I'm in preliminary discussions with an independent band who is interested in getting a music video produced. I imagine many of you on this site have produced/directed/shot music videos before, but this is my first time. At this point, we've talked about the song, exchanged some thoughts about the concept, and that the band will be responsible for coming up with the budget. I'm not looking to get paid here, just an opportunity to produce a quality product that can benefit me as an aspiring director and a way to get the band another way to market themselves. It's certainly a project I'm excited about, but I don't want to make sure I've got all my bases covered.

Anyone have any advice or pitfalls to look out for - whether it has to do with pre-production, negotiation, concept development, and even production - as we move forward? The guy I've been corresponding with - the lead singer - was an ex-coworker, so I don't think he's gonna try and screw me. But I want to be as professional I can be throughout the process.

I should say that I do want to direct it. If the band does not buy into the concept 100%, how have you all been able to overcome it? If at all. It is likely that I will also be the producer. I don't think I'm in over my head here, but if it sounds that way, I'd love to know.

Thanks for reading, everyone. Much appreciated.

- anton

#2 Brad Grimmett

Brad Grimmett
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2660 posts
  • Steadicam Operator
  • Los Angeles

Posted 03 March 2008 - 03:07 AM

One very general piece of advice: Simple is often better. Don't try to get too creative and technical. Your budget and end product will suffer. It's all well and good to be optimistic, but it's important to be realistic at the same time.
Good luck.

#3 John Carreon

John Carreon
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera