Sander Ferdinand
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Other
  • The Netherlands

Posted 03 March 2008 - 10:48 AM

Hey Guys,

I am planning on buying an Arri 16bl. Here's the deal.

It took me some time to choose whether my next film camera should be a HD one, or an 16mm one. I don't like HD. Well, i do like it but not if it's used for cinematic movies, shorts and documentaries. For a couple of years i have been working in the extreme sports industry as a skateboard/snowboard cinematographer. The camera's i used most of the time were the Sony Vx's ( 2100 and 2000 ), DVX's, PD150/170's, etc. As i am still young ( 18 ) and have no college graduation or bachelors whatsoever, I am mainly a self taught filmmaker. Allthough making those kind of movies is bassicly my work, it's not where my filmheart really lies ( hehe ). I want to make shorts, docus, etc.

So i got some super8 camera's ( canon 514, 518, bauer 715xl and some nizo ) to learn more about real cinematography inplace of setting your wb correct, shutter correct and pressing a red button ( ofcourse this is excessively speaking ). At this moment i shot 3x k40, 4x v 200t and 2x kodachrome 100D.

Since the Dollar is pretty weak nowadays the search for an 16mm camera came earlier then expected. No point in waiting, right? The camera won't drop in value all of the sudden in 5months.

After some research i found the Arri 16BL. It's exactly the price range i was looking for. I did some more research on the camera. I looked in probaly every thread concerning the 16bl. It all looked great. I want to buy the 16bl with videotap, blimped lens housing and crystal sync motor. I don't think 4:3 is a problem because i figured that i would sell the camera after a few projects and then buy a SR1 instead for super16.