Photo

3 (or 2) pointing lighting in a small space (6m x 10m)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew Thorley

Andrew Thorley

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Other

Posted 11 March 2008 - 06:46 PM

Hello all,

In the coming weeks I shall be over seeing the lighting and camera operation for my final year project. Now ive been making short films for a few years- ten in total. Anyways, with the exception of one short film I had never utilized a lighting kit before. This particular film died during the second day of filming due to my inexperience with utilizing an artificial lighting kit and that the scene in question was filmed in a remarkably small kitchen. See link below for samples.

Due to the small space and using two lamps (one fill, one key) resulted in over exposure and thus added to my embarrassment and I decided to kill the production. (this was a personal project where I undertook roles of director,lighting ect ect)

Which brings me to today, in the coming weeks I will be shooting in another small location (living room approx 6 meters wide and 10 metres long). This particular room will lay host to 2/3's of the script entire length.

I will be conducting some tests (I.e camera placement/lighting placement) but to be honest i'm completely bricking it.

Ive been reading a few books on lighting (gerald millersons : lighting for television & film ). its within the pages of this book where I seen a passage stating that a fill light should be at least 3 metres away from the subject. Is there any truth in this., because I know for a fact that there is no way I can get those three metres out of the room. And to top it off my director (and fellow student) demands crisp looking images which, I dont think I can deliver unless I turn the gain way way up on the camcorder =(/

Any advice.?

A.Thorley

#2 Walter Graff

Walter Graff
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1334 posts
  • Other
  • New York City

Posted 12 March 2008 - 12:03 AM