rickieuk

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 13 March 2008 - 03:48 PM

Hi

I am a student film maker, hoping to make a film with the gothic stylings of films like "Seven", "Sleepy Hollow" and "Delicatessen."

Could I get some advice on how to acquire such gothic cinematography onto miniDV?

Many Thanks for replies

#2 Chad Stockfleth

Chad Stockfleth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 622 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Louisville, KY

Posted 13 March 2008 - 04:38 PM

use a lot of darkness in your frame. use hard light sources for extreme contrast. film scary/haunting images.

all those movies were shot on film so expected lessened results.

good luck!

#3 Jonnyw

Jonnyw

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 22 March 2008 - 06:42 AM

The dark noir film look. Can be achieved moderately if you film at night using basic three point lighting ensuring that you are using the camera onboard settings to their fully capability.

Things to consider;

the scene itself looks like a film set with correct lighting

you can use red card to do your white balance(some scenes in se7en and fight club do this)

open the aperture as wide as possible

colour and sharpness features on the camera turned down to minimum.

I hope this helps.
JonnyW

#4 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 22 March 2008 - 11:01 AM

"rickieuk" and "JohnnyW", you two will have difficulties as students... if you can't read the first thing printed on the registration page:

Forum Terms & Rules

READ THIS - IT'S NOT LONG

You must register using your REAL NAME. That means your first name, a space, then your last name. If you don't use your real name, or you register with a name that looks like your real name but we find out is not your real name, your account will be permanently disabled.