Peter Olney

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Other

Posted 20 March 2008 - 02:33 PM

Hi,
I am working on a student short film and its my first time using 16mm colour stock. The story is based on a visually impaired girls experience at school. It consists of two scenes, one in a bathroom and the other in class. Our director wants to convey two completely different moods within each area. Initially i hoped to achieve this by using 2 different stocks.

To convey a more dramatic look in the bathroom, I had planned to shoot on the vision2 250d 7205 and use a single source HMI to back light through a window, bouncing the light back with foam core boards.

The classroom needs to be subtle and muted so i originally planned using the vision2 expression 500t 7229 in conjunction with a wratten 85 filter. I based a lighting plan around diffusing tungsten lights combined with either kino flos or chinaballs corrected with full CTB to allow for ambient daylight.

Now comes my problem! Though I want to create different moods, my concern is how both stocks will cut together. Ideally I would like the flesh tones and colour palettes to match. Has anyone got any experience/examples of how these two stock cut together? Would I be better off using the 500t 7229, NDing down and flagging off areas to craft the light?

I have already suggested an alternative 500t stock that may cut better with the 250d but my director has his heart set on the expression.

Any help and advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!! :)

#2 Laurent Andrieux

Laurent Andrieux
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1527 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • France

Posted 20 March 2008 - 04:20 PM

It may not be a bad choice, but the 18 and more likely the 17 are supposed to match better the daylight stock, because the 29 has a particularly low contrast. If you want to stick to 500 T, why not give the new vision3 7219 a try ?