Malik Sajid
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Student
  • Lahore, Pakistan

Posted 05 April 2008 - 02:43 AM

hello everyone

I am a newbie here actually studying video production as my majors.
i thought of to post on the forums, but thought that the questions are quite of a beginners level, soooooo you know

Well, everywhere i read that the color temperature for indoor is 3200 k and at outdoors its 5600 k around. What i want to know is how this color temperature affect on setting lighting mood, and how can we measure the temperature. whats the light meter for? Does it tell the temperature and calculates the appropriate settings for aperture or etc.

Suppose i am at student level, i got four 1000 watt open face tungston lights for an assignment, how can i use those 4 lights and get the 3200 k temperature.

i realize that its quite a strange question, or i am not been able to tell you.

anywayz

waiting for your reply
hope you don't mind

thanks

#2 Valerio Sacchetto

Valerio Sacchetto
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Student
  • Italy

Posted 05 April 2008 - 05:44 AM

Well, everywhere i read that the color temperature for indoor is 3200 k and at outdoors its 5600 k around. What i want to know is how this color temperature affect on setting lighting mood, and how can we measure the temperature. whats the light meter for? Does it tell the temperature and calculates the appropriate settings for aperture or etc.

You're quite confused about light properties.
Color temperature is measured with a color meter and it has nothing to do with your aperture, it's a quality of light. The quantity of light is measured with a light meter and that's what is important to determine your aperture.