#1 Niki Mundo

Niki Mundo
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Student
  • Los Angeles

Posted 17 April 2008 - 11:46 AM

This is my biggest fear since moving to Los Angeles. Not that I don't have a million others, but as a part-time script writer I fear that my few brilliant ideas for a movie are going to be stolen by studios,agents or random people.
I have worked on a historical script for a few months and I'm nearing completition. It's a unique angle on a hundred year old public domain story but it's MY story is so far as I wrote it etc..
My question is how worried should I be about this? I know I should copyright my script, register it with the WGA and not send it to every person via email in the L.A. area for reading but once it's completed I want the right people to read it, buy it with me attached to it and have it made. What I would have a siezure over would be I shop it around, nobody wants it and then a year later it's made and it's pretty darn close to what I wrote. Then I sue and then my career is over because I'm a problem-person to the industry.

Should I be worried? :unsure:

#2 Walter Graff

Walter Graff
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1334 posts
  • Other
  • New York City

Posted 17 April 2008 - 11:53 AM

There are no promises in life. Even the best ideas you came up with are probably already down on someone else paper or being put down as we speak. If you do the right things, be honest, and life life posatively, you'll have nothing to worry aobut. Fear? Over what. How many lawsuits a day happen because of your senario? Sure they happen every now and then (most don't win) but I wouldn't worry. Just do your best, leave paper trails, register your work. No one wants to steal your idea, they just want good ideas. I pitched at least six TV shows about five years ago that are now on TV, but not by my hand. But I've moved on and while the concept is close, it's clear they didn't get it from me.

#3 Alex Ellerman

Alex Ellerman