#1 Meg K

Meg K

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 20 April 2008 - 11:55 AM

I need to shoot a "candle light vigil" scene for a music video. I'm a high school student and i have almost no budget. I just need to know the best way to light this scene. Improvising will work for me. (ie: blanket over a lamp) Haha.

Any thoughts??

#2 Tim O'Connor

Tim O'Connor
  • Sustaining Members
  • 860 posts
  • Other
  • Boston, Massachusetts

Posted 21 April 2008 - 01:06 AM

I need to shoot a "candle light vigil" scene for a music video. I'm a high school student and i have almost no budget. I just need to know the best way to light this scene. Improvising will work for me. (ie: blanket over a lamp) Haha.

Any thoughts??

If you're in high school, perhaps you're shooting Mini-DV? Single chip camcorder? Those often do well in lower light. For your wider shots, if you have lots of candles you might get some nice dramatic effect from the silhouettes holding them depending on how you position your vigil attendees against the background.
Maybe there's a wall that's already lighted that will define their silhouettes.

For close-ups if you have people hold two or three candles closely together, or find thicker or multi-wick candles, and also have them hold those candles up a bit higher and closer (safely of course) to their faces, you might get enough light on their faces for pleasing images. Do some tests with different candles and see what kind of images you can get by the candlelight. I've got some nice close-ups without any gain or noise by the light of several candles on a face.

If your school has lights you can learn to augment your candles light by gelling a light off camera. There are several threads on here about books for film lighting and also a list in the Students and first time filmmakers forum I believe.

http://www.cinematog...?showtopic=4523