4 replies to this topic

#1 Dax McKeever

Dax McKeever
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Other

Posted 21 April 2008 - 11:48 AM

I've heard many experts give the same advice: school is great for academic teachers, but "avoid film school and use the money to do your own". I understand this advice, when it comes from experienced wisemen who entered this [film] career 20years ago. I'm considering fine film schools overseas, because (1) I have limited camera experience; (2) I'm not fond of U.S. 3-4yr education; (3) I feel there's more to learn from a diverse, international atmosphere; esp while I'm young, under 30. I'm interested if you can share your own personal bio on how you found this career, and how you found entry-level opportunity? Thanks in advance for priceless expertise.

--Dax :rolleyes:

My story:
After an undergrad BA from Univ of Alabama-Birmingham, I found myself spending 5 years in Los Angeles. I quickly lost admiration for non-sense Hollywood actors [which are as bad as politicans], and my heart is seeking behind-camera film career. I am considering Documentary Filmmaking toward one-year MA graduate study overseas at UCCA in Farnham, England. And it will cost money but I have also heard I appraisals about NYU's Tisch School of Arts [in Singapore, Asia]. I would really love to spend more time overseas and Travel Channel, Discovery Channel, National Geographic would be heaven-on-earth; but difficult, I know.
And I also have time & study spent in London (UK), Gold Coast/Brisbane Australia, and 6mo in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

#2 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 21 April 2008 - 01:33 PM