Photo

I need help with the audio sync concept.

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 precious nchanji

precious nchanji

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Student
  • MN, st paul

Posted 23 May 2008 - 12:09 AM

I have never used a film camera before and i am confused on the whole concept of sound syncing.

I understand that some cameras have time code generators, but i don't know if these generators

are used to input time code on the film or on the slate. If it is on the film, then why is a slate still

placed in front of the camera and where does the slate gets it's own timecode? Also today, while

browsing the Aaton website i came across one of their film cameras called A minima. On the

website it says that this camera can sync video and sound without the use of a slate. I also want to

know how this is possible?

#2 Nate Downes

Nate Downes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1638 posts
  • Florida, USA

Posted 23 May 2008 - 06:59 AM

Simple, you crystal sync the camera and the audio recorder. The quartz crystal occilates at a specific frequency, and the electronics of both the camera and recorder sync themselves up to that frequency, thus they both run at the exact same speed, hence you can sync up audio with the film footage.

#3 John Brawley

John Brawley
  • Sustaining Members
  • 834 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Atlanta Georgia

Posted 23 May 2008 - 09:35 AM

I have never used a film camera before and i am confused on the whole concept of sound syncing.

I understand that some cameras have time code generators, but i don't know if these generators

are used to input time code on the film or on the slate. If it is on the film, then why is a slate still

placed in front of the camera and where does the slate gets it's own timecode? Also today, while

browsing the Aaton website i came across one of their film cameras called A minima. On the