#1 Zac Halberd

Zac Halberd
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Cardiff

Posted 09 June 2008 - 11:32 AM

Shooting some tests on the RED using superspeeds. Getting some soft shots, and am wondering if I need to back focus these lenses. I didn't know you had to back focus a prime lens. Sorry for the stupid question, but this is my first time using these lenses.

Thanks

Z

#2 Max Jacoby

Max Jacoby
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2955 posts
  • Other

Posted 09 June 2008 - 11:47 AM

You can't backfocus PL mount lenses. In all likelyhood the camera is not properly collimated. If after collimation the lenses still are soft, there might be something mechanically wrong with the lenses and you need to have them checked by a technician.

#3 Mitch Gross

Mitch Gross
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2873 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 09 June 2008 - 11:57 AM

You do backfocus PL mount lenses. It is called collimating and it is not something one does in the field. A large bench device called a collimator is used to measure the offset of the lens from a set standard in microns. Then the lens mount is removed and the depth set correctly by adding or removing thin metal shims.

#4 Dan Goulder

Dan Goulder
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1259 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 09 June 2008 - 11:30 PM

Are your soft shots occuring at infinity focus? If that's not the case, then the lenses may not be the problem.

#5 Johnathan Holmes

Johnathan Holmes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • New York, Toronto

Posted 16 June 2008 - 02:44 AM