#1 David A Smith

David A Smith

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Other

Posted 25 June 2008 - 08:33 PM

I recently did a music video - don't be to hard on me as I'm not a pro. I did the whole music video alone with no crew, no help at all. I did all the lighting, camera work, editing and simple set design

But my question is this, and I'm puzzled by it

At 38 seconds you will see a swinging light bulb in the picture and throughout the video.

The bulb was a 60 Watt RED incandescent bulb with a little blinker disc that I inserted into the socket. Actually there are two of these in the video - 2 red bulbs. and on top of this I used LEE red gels on most of the surrounding lights, so I would think this would help make the bulb more red (but that doesn't sound right does it)

The bulb showed up as Yellow and not red. I don't get it? I white balanced. Someone said it's the theory of luminescence, which i don't get.

Why would the bulbs show up yellow? Did the blinker make the color change, like a dimmer or intermittent fast dimmer on and off?

I shot this with a consumer 3ccd Panasonic $598 GS500 camcorder, so nothing fancy

Any suggestions or help on this would be appreciated. Thank you for your time. David

Here is the music video - note the bulb especially at 38 seconds swinging
Ice Nine Kills Music Video

#2 David Rakoczy

David Rakoczy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1579 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • USA

Posted 25 June 2008 - 09:02 PM

Why would the bulbs show up yellow? - quote

So many variables... so little time.. in my opinion, you are lucky those globes appeared yellow. They give you 'color contras't. I would love them... accept them.. and be thankful they are there.

Edited by David Rakoczy, 25 June 2008 - 09:07 PM.

#3 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 25 June 2008 - 10:33 PM