#1 Doug Brantner

Doug Brantner
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Electrician
  • NYC

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:31 PM

I'm just getting into professional G&E, looking to upgrade my hobby multimeter. Any recommendations as far as manufacturers, digital vs. analog, all-in-one vs. specialized units?

I think what I'm looking for is something with a basic VOM, audible continuity tester, plus an amp clamp large enough for 4/0, and a line frequency meter.

Any other suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks.

#2 Paul Bruening

Paul Bruening

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 2858 posts
  • Producer
  • Oxford, Mississippi

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:52 PM

I use the $10 ones from the hardware stores. I lose them frequently, so cheap is good. All it has to do is check for hots, how much and ohm through.

#3 Dan Salzmann

Dan Salzmann
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1143 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Paris, France

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:53 PM

I've seen many G&E people on film sets use Fluke meters.

#4 John Sprung

John Sprung
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4635 posts
  • Other

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:59 PM

Yes, the Fluke clamp on -- they're about $50 at Home Depot.

-- J.S.

#5 Hal Smith

Hal Smith
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2280 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • OKC area

Posted 30 June 2008 - 05:36 PM

I'll second (third?) the Fluke recommendations. I own three different Flukes and have never had a bit of trouble with them. One nice thing about the Flukes is the leads that come with them are safety rated, there are a lot of cheap meters that come with very untrustworthy leads. Fluke has a large selection of accessories including many different lead styles. I particularly like the Industrial set with the clip-on grabbers - they come in handy where you need to measure deep inside a piece of gear, you can power it down, clip the leads on, then get safe and power the equipment up for test.

#6 Michael Collier

Michael Collier
  • Basic Members