Robert Brown

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 07 July 2008 - 09:17 PM

Hi everyone,

I've been using a Nizo 136XL for the past 6 months or so and its treated me pretty well. Most of the film came back looking good and it hasn't broken down on me. But a friend of mine just sold me his Nizo Professional for a very good deal I couldn't pass up. He gave me 2 brands of meter batteries with the camera: WeinCell MRB625 and Exell PHOTO Z625PX 1.4V Zinc Air. He advised me to ask around as to which brand I should use. I have never switched out a meter battery, as I used the stock batteries with the 136XL.

Anyone know? Also, where do I install the meter batteries? I've looked through the manual, found nothing.. Near the spot in the handle where I put the AA's, I found a couple things that can be unscrewed, but didn't want to mess with anything until I know for sure.....

Lastly, Anyone know where I can find an original Braun Nizo Professional leather case? I'd like to be able to fit this camera in my Tamrac bag along with my DCR VX-1000 and my 136XL, and not have to lug around 2 bags like I will be until I sort this out...

I look forward to learning and also helping out as much as I am able in the future.

Thanks,
Rob

#2 Michael Lehnert

Michael Lehnert
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1086 posts
  • Other
  • London, UK / Basel, CH

Posted 07 July 2008 - 09:30 PM

The Nizo professional is the only Nizo big-bodied camera that does not require any additional power supply, i.e. those Weincells or other zinc button batteries, to power the TTL exposure meter. The lightmeter is indeed powered through the regular battery pack inserted in the handgrip.
So no need for those cells. Read more about that in my upcoming Super 8 Today article on this camera (shameless promotional plug ends B) )