2 replies to this topic

#1 Eric Lin

Eric Lin
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 30 July 2008 - 08:44 AM

Hi all. I'm prepping for a low budget (and by low I mean micro) red one indie feature. I may have to lose one lens from the prime lens set I want and am considering a Zeiss Mutar or Optex 2x extender as a cheaper alternative. I've never used one before and won't have a chance to test until close to the shoot but I need to get them an equipment list now.

I know they lose two stops of light but I'd love to hear people's experiences and their opinions about the optical quality of the extenders. Acceptable? Horrible? Let me know.

Thanks!

Eric Lin
DP
New York

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 30 July 2008 - 09:05 AM

Hi all. I'm prepping for a low budget (and by low I mean micro) red one indie feature. I may have to lose one lens from the prime lens set I want and am considering a Zeiss Mutar or Optex 2x extender as a cheaper alternative. I've never used one before and won't have a chance to test until close to the shoot but I need to get them an equipment list now.

I know they lose two stops of light but I'd love to hear people's experiences and their opinions about the optical quality of the extenders. Acceptable? Horrible? Let me know.

Thanks!

Eric Lin
DP
New York

Hi,

An extender is just magnifying the image, so a great deal depends on the the lens being magnified. Most lenses are optimally sharp 2-3 stops down. Good results can be obtained.

Stephen

#3 Ira Ratner

Ira Ratner
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Other
  • Coral Springs, Florida

Posted 01 August 2008 - 06:36 PM