#1 Yasutaka Sekine

Yasutaka Sekine

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:58 AM

Hello everybody. I'm a film student and am really interested in Cinematography. Lately I was seriously considering about purchasing a 16mm camera rather than renting one every time I have a project. But the problem is, I don't know what to purchase. What I'm looking for is a used (of course), not so loud, and decent quality. I would like you guys to give me some advise. Price range is really low too actually. I was thinking about less than $2000 that I can some how save up and make it happen in near future.

Thanks,

Yasu

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 31 July 2008 - 08:36 AM

Hey Yasu,
this has been discussed a lot, just try the search function.
For S16mm at 2000 though you may be hard pressed, normally I'd aim for around 5000 (good Eclair camera) but steals often pop up.

#3 Yasutaka Sekine

Yasutaka Sekine

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 31 July 2008 - 12:53 PM

Ok, I will.

Thanks Adrian

Yasu.

#4 Brian Drysdale

Brian Drysdale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5070 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 31 July 2008 - 03:13 PM

You'd get more responses in the 16mm forum, rather than in a forum about particular cinematographers.

#5 Olex Kalynychenko

Olex Kalynychenko
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 868 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Dnepropetrovsk, Ukraine

Posted 01 August 2008 - 03:00 AM

.... Lately I was seriously considering about purchasing a 16mm camera rather than renting one every time I have a project.....
.... I was thinking about less than $2000 ....

Russian professional Kinor-16 SX-2M and you will have money for upgrade of electrical motor on crystal sync speed version.

#6 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director