#1 Tyler Leisher

Tyler Leisher
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Director
  • El Segundo, CA

Posted 09 August 2008 - 08:21 PM

Hey, I'm an independent producer-director, and after shooting a ton of shorts on HDV/HD Digital I'm planning my first feature film.

I had planned on shooting it on HDV/HD digitally, but then I started reading about festivals and my future career...

Should I be shooting on 35mm (or 16mm) film for my first feature, or go with digital and let a distributor blow it up to 35mm if they need to?

Do festivals allow digital films nowadays, the book Im reading is a few years old.. printed before the digital revolution, as it were. Am I going to have to pay the money to transfer from digital to 35mm just for festivals? (Like Cannes, Sundance, Slamdance, Toronto, etc)

My origional thought was that I could shoot it digitally, take it to festivals where I could find a distributor (God willing) who would then blow it up to 35mm for a theatrical release (God, and the distributor, willing)...is that not the case?

My goal is theatrical release, but the chances of that are slim.. and despite having a great script, I dont want to get my hopes up and shoot on 35mm only to have to transfer it to digital for a DIY distribution strategy.

#2 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 11937 posts
  • Other

Posted 09 August 2008 - 08:34 PM

Shooting film makes you look good.

Shooting film makes it (a little) easier to sell.

Shooting film stands you out (a little) from the crowd.

However, do not rob every other aspect of your production - especially production design - to feed a film camera. Too many people in your position end up with film-originated, high resolution, high dynamic range, technically excellent pictures of a crappy-looking production.