Most Popular 35mm Feature Film Cameras

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 David Mickler

David Mickler
  • Guests

Posted 12 August 2008 - 08:47 PM

Hey Board

First time poster here who enjoys the site and learning from other's experiences.

I've been ACing for a couple years now, mostly TV with a few features here and there.

What are the most widely used 35mm feature film cameras?

Also, for those 1st ACs out there, what are the most popular and reliable remote focus pulling systems?

Thanks

#2 Andrew Brinkhaus

Andrew Brinkhaus
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 12 August 2008 - 09:53 PM

Well just to name a few 35mm systems, there are Panavision models such as the Panastar, GII, Platinum, XL2 system, Millenium Panaflex, I'm sure others will throw in some older models as well. Arri boasts the Studio system, 535, Lite, 435, 235, 35-III, II-C, BL 4, BL, 3, BL 2, and some older Arriflex models.

In regards to RFU models, I have heard great things about both Preston and Bartech systems.

#3 Brad Grimmett

Brad Grimmett
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2660 posts
  • Steadicam Operator
  • Los Angeles

Posted 13 August 2008 - 03:48 AM

I'd say (based on my own experience) the most popular cameras are:
Panavision:
GII
Platinum
XL

Arri:
Arricam ST and LT
SR3

And I believe the most popular remote focus by far is the Preston, with the Bartech being second and the Scorpio probably third.

#4 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:41 AM

They're a relative newcomer but I would check out a cmotion RCU. I first messed with one at cinegear this summer and then used one on a short job and it was great. They all do essentially the same thing but I think the cmotion is much more comfortable to use. Their website is cmotion.eu

#5 Rory Hanrahan

Rory Hanrahan
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts