Red Starter Kit

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Alexandre Lucena

Alexandre Lucena
  • Guests

Posted 24 August 2008 - 08:08 AM

Hi,

I have decide to go Red and I would be glad to know what list of items are necessary to get
a very basic 4k system running. I believe a Nykon mount would be the cheapest option. But what does it require in computing? Would it be possible to run it in a PC? Do I have to buy expensive software or will Final Cut take care of it all?

P.S I am a father of two childen and this is my investment to provide income.

Yours

Alexandre Lucena.

#2 Gary McClurg

Gary McClurg
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Producer

Posted 24 August 2008 - 08:25 AM

Its hard to tell from your post... have you shot with a high end camera before...

My background I'm a producer of small independent feature films... that end up on Showtime, Sci-Fi Channel, etc. and go straight to DVD... since I'm not a shooter... I would think that you would have to look at it the same way I do... can I afford not so much the camera but the post workflow... in both our cases... could we get enough rentals to cover the cost of the camera and all the goodies that go with it...

I've heard some claim that its anywhere from $25k to $30k for a basic model... when I add up my numbers it comes to more like $40k... so could we recoup that in a year... if so I say yes... once you know that your clients can handle the workflow issues... and of course... just my opinion... when all the bugs are worked out.... again I'm not a shooter... so I want some thing that I can just go to the rental house... pick up off the shelf and have no worries since its a tried and tested format that's been around a while... but again you have to make up your mind can I make enough money off it to pay for it in a year... if so and you know all the problems that come with being a renter.. go for it...