#1 Jessica Njoo

Jessica Njoo

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:54 AM

I am shooting a short film on 16mm in October but am doing some lighting setups prior and taking some stills.

I am used to digital and am only just getting into film now

What is the shutter speed I should use when shooting the stills (on a pentax SLR) to be the same as the 16mm film on Arriflex?

Also are there any tips about what I should be doing when taking the stills?

If these questions seem strange please tell me why, I am a complete amateur when it comes to film!

Thanks,

Jess

#2 David Auner aac

David Auner aac
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:00 AM

What is the shutter speed I should use when shooting the stills (on a pentax SLR) to be the same as the 16mm film on Arriflex?

Hi Jess,

you best get a couple of basic film and cinematography books (check out the recommended books section of the boards). Also read the manual of your camera if you have one. The shutter speed for 24fps and a 180degree shutter is 1/48th second. round that up to 1/50th and you're set with most still cameras. Welcome to the film world and have fun shooting film!

Regards, Dave

#3 Ira Ratner

Ira Ratner
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Other
  • Coral Springs, Florida

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:56 AM

With still, you can adjust both the shutter speed and aperture (lens opening) to get the correct exposure.

In other words, if your meter indicates correct exposure at 1/125 shutter speed at an F5.6 aperture, it will ALSO be correct at 1/60 at F8. 1/60 leaves the shutter open twice as long as 1/125, and believe it or not, F8 lets in HALF as much light as F5.6.