#1 Trynda Adair

Trynda Adair

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 04 September 2008 - 09:04 PM

Ok, well I'm still in high school and I want to be a cinematographer when I graduate, but i'm not sure if i am taking the right courses. Right now I am majoring with Visual Communications. (sorry about the spelling) So I'm taking photography, graphic arts, and advertising arts. :unsure: Am I doing the right things???

#2 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director
  • El Paso, Texas

Posted 05 September 2008 - 01:26 AM

For high school, that's pretty much all you can do because that's about all they offer. I would also get involved with the drama department as a tech. You will learn a bit about lighting and lighting design as well as gels. There will be differences between heatrical lighting and movie lighting but it will still be helpful at this stage.

I would also offer to film or video tape every single performance. Play with the camera on manual settings and read. You'll learn a lot about focus, depth of field, f stops, composition, editing, how the light effects a scene and the actors in it, ect. Get your our little movie camera, 16mm non-reflex Bell and Howell 240 or something similar (because they're cheap, REAL cheap under a hundred buck sometimes under 50 with shipping and you'll HAVE to learn how to set your lenses with a light meter and measuring tape because you can't see directly through the camera lens, you look through a viewfinder that's at this side of the camera in what's called a parallax view......look it up.) then save up your pennies and go out and shoot some stuff on your own. (You also have to be careful because film is not re-usable like video tape so you have to check everything and make sure it's right before you shoot or you will be waisting your money. Best training there is!) Sam Fuller's first camera was a Filmo. Steve Spielberg's what his dad's super 8.