#1 monchacha

monchacha

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Industry Rep

Posted 08 September 2008 - 06:59 AM

Hi I am new to the super 8 world. I got a canon 310 xl and kodak ejtachrome 64t film recently but only to find later from the internet that the camera won't read the 64t film properly.

There is no exposure compensation option in the camera, neither can I adjust the aperture/shutter speed so I wonder if there's any way to expose correctly indoor and outdoor with that camera? Is there anything I can do about it? What will happen if I just shoot the film as is in daylight and tungsten condition?

I got a friend's wedding to shoot this week and will appreciate anyone's help in giving me a clue as in how to go about shooting with this camera and film combination. Thanks a lot in advance.

#2 andy oliver

andy oliver
  • Sustaining Members
  • 258 posts
  • Other
  • uk

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:16 AM

Hi, only possible solution is an nd filter on the lens, trouble is you wont find an nd filter, 43mm diameter i think, that knocks off a third of a stop!!!. Assume you have the non auto focus model??.. Where are you located in the world?? I have found for some weird reason that the canon 318m delivers ok results with 64t, sharper and not so over exposed compared to the 310, perhaps if you can quickly source a 318m. Trouble is is really need a known working camera for a wedding shoot...

#3 andy oliver

andy oliver
  • Sustaining Members
  • 258 posts
  • Other
  • uk

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:17 AM

Possible solution is to shoot fuji 50d either from Spectra or wittner, no guarantee of image stability though, least exposure will be nearer the mark!!

Edited by andy oliver, 08 September 2008 - 08:19 AM.

#4 Richard Tuohy

Richard Tuohy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 482 posts
  • Other
  • Daylesford, Australia

Posted 08 September 2008 - 06:49 PM