Amith Surendran
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Bangalore

Posted 10 September 2008 - 03:47 AM

Hi all,

Im a student DOP working on a script which requires a 1960's look for a few interior scenes. Can you please advice me on my options on a student budget rounding off at 6000$?

My initial thoughts were about getting most of the colors in production design, and telecine from a print made on a high saturation stock unlike other scenes which will be captured directly from the negative, to mark a difference in looks. The filmstock will be Kodak Vision 3 500T

Please drop in your suggestions and thoughts.

Cheers

Edited by Amith Surendran, 10 September 2008 - 03:49 AM.

#2 Andrew Koch

Andrew Koch
  • Sustaining Members
  • 243 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Burbank, California

Posted 10 September 2008 - 07:05 AM

With a budget of only 6000, why would you want to go to through the added expense of printing something when you are going to telecine it anyway? Couldn't you simply increase the saturation and contrast in telecine? You can get more saturation and richer blacks if you overexpose the film about 2/3 of a stop and bring it down. You might want to consider shooting these scenes on the Fuji Vivid stock which is high contrast, high saturation, or maybe even reversal film. Are you shooting on 35mm or 16mm? If you do decide to print something on 35mm, the premier stock is very snappy, but more expensive. I'm not even sure if it is available in 16mm. A couple of years ago, when I was getting 16mm workprints as a student, the lab told me there was only one color print stock available for 16mm. I can't remember the name of that stock. Those who know this better, please correct me if I'm wrong.

Unless you have an established relationship with your lab, labs tend to print student films hot and flat, so even if you go this way, you would most likely have to tweak the contrast in telecine anyway.

#3 Amith Surendran

Amith Surendran