Photo

Realistic options for sound synchronisation.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Ben Wells

Ben Wells

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Other

Posted 13 September 2008 - 12:18 PM

Hi all,

Better do the intros first. My name is Ben and I hail from Hobart, Tasmania, Australia. My background is in graphic design, still photography and audio engineering, though for the past few years I've done the odd DV job for clients. I've always enjoyed cinematography and earlier this week while toying with the idea of film discovered the world of Super 8. Needless to say after several days of scouring the web for info I've decided it is something I'd like to get into. I hope to acquire a Canon 814XLS within the next month or so and in time acquire a couple more cameras, possibly a Beaulieu of some description for slow motion shooting and the like.

Invariably it will remain 'hobby only', though I can see it working within the aesthetic of a post-alt-punk band I play drums in, and have already started storyboarding ideas for a filmclip or two. I'm also toying with the idea of shooting short documentaries. With both of these though comes the issue of sound sync.

From what I've been able to gather from information here and elsewhere, the options are:

1. Slide things into place manually in Final Cut Pro et. al. For your average filmclip, where say only half the actual runtime is band footage requiring sync, and each shot averages 0.5-2sec anyway this probably isn't so bad. For an interview though it would very easy for audio to drift out after 1-2 mins.

2. Crystal sync the camera to 24 fps and mark the start with a clapper. Line them up in the editor and your happy. I'm assuming that a crystal sync'd camera can only operate at that fps though?