#1 Paul Bruening

Paul Bruening

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 2858 posts
  • Producer
  • Oxford, Mississippi

Posted 22 September 2008 - 02:44 PM

I run across references to B&H perfs being a problem with commie cams. What's the bottom line on this issue? Which cams can and which cams can't?

What's the "hole" story?

#2 Bruce Taylor

Bruce Taylor
  • Sustaining Members
  • 482 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 22 September 2008 - 04:12 PM

I run across references to B&H perfs being a problem

Who's Connie?

I'm no expert, but this is what I know: Commie cams were made for Kodak (KS) perf 35mm film, and we in the West, as you know, use the B&H perfs for camera stock. KS perf stock being used for projection prints.

A commie cam like the Konvas does not have a reg pin, in that case it doesn't care which (KS or BH) perf film is used, so there are no concerns.

The Kinor (don't know about others but I imagine the same issue) does have a registration pin, and it must be modified to accept B&H perfs. It has been my experience that any Kinor that was actually used after the breakup of the Soviet Union has been modified to B&H perfs because they were shooting Western (Kodak or Fuji) film. It is apparently not an expensive mod, a few hundred dollars.

I have a pile of Kinor 35H bodies, and they were all modified before I got them.

Being a Mitchell man, you wouldn't have anything to worry about-- unless you're putting together a 1 perf Kinor.... or?

Bruce Taylor
www.Indi35.com

#3 Leo Anthony Vale

Leo Anthony Vale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2010 posts
  • Other
  • Pittsburgh PA

Posted 22 September 2008 - 04:18 PM

I run across references to B&H perfs being a problem with commie cams. What's the bottom line on this issue? Which cams can and which cams can't?

What's the "hole" story?

B&H perfs are the standard negative holes, while Kodak Standard are the positve holes.