#1 Steve McBride

Steve McBride
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • New York, NY

Posted 24 September 2008 - 02:46 PM

For a short I'm doing soon, I'll be shooting in a park during the day (preferably early to mid afternoon) and I've never really done an exterior set like this before so I'm wondering what I'll need to bring.

The scene is two characters having a dialogue back and forth at a picnic table, one sitting on the table, the other on the bench.

I'm thinking that just use reflectors and diffusers, but I've never used them before so any tips would be greatly appreciated. I stopped by JoAnne Fabrics the other day and they had muslin on sale pretty cheap so I can get a good amount of that. I would also like to know what kind of equipment I would need for the setup, such as frames for the reflectors/ diffusers, as well as if I need any c-stands.

I'll hopefully be shooting this HD, but if I can't get what I need I'll have to end up shooting SD with no 35mm lenses, so if that helps at all with what you need to know.

Lastly, if there are any filters or anything that would be good to use for something like this, I'd love it if you could let me know. We'll be shooting in a park outside of Rochester, NY where it is very wooded and great empty landscapes. It's also coming up fall here now so trees won't only be green, yellows, orangs, browns, and reds will also be thrown into it.

Thanks in advance!

- Steve

#2 Kiarash Sadigh

Kiarash Sadigh
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Toronto

Posted 27 September 2008 - 01:10 PM

Steve, shooting ext day is all about putting a leash on the planet sun, take over its spill and use it the way you want....
In a sunny day situation you're dealing with three major brightness ranges: Highlights, midtones and shadows... you should be mainly concerned about your highlights and shodows...and here is what I recommend to do....