#1 Steve Absalom

Steve Absalom
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Student
  • Baltimore, MD USA

Posted 25 September 2008 - 09:44 AM

Hey there. I'm a film student, now taking my very first film production class where I get to use a camera. The instructor has required us to pair of in groups of threes, which we will keep the entire semester, and we have to do six short films. He has encouraged us to play around and test ourselves because at higher levels our work will be too serious to mess around with, and more so if we ever work on a real feature film. Basically now is the time to experiment and play around, get a feel for things and be creative.

Well I have this shot in my head with someone performing some action (I won't go into the specifics of the shot due to copyright reasons- i hope to do something similar on an actual film one day). Well I want it to be POV and I want to capture the actor's hands and feet in the shot (not all at once, more like he'd look down, see the feet, look slightly down and see the hands).

The problems are obvious. In a high-budget feature they'd just computerize the hands, put them in digitally by either creating the limbs on the computer, or shoot each limb separately and then put them together. I obviously can't do that.

What I was looking for are some ideas. Obviously its going to be a huge pain and the effort will be almost otherworldy, but hey, that's why we're here, right? To experiment and have fun with it. Even if its pain. So I don't want any replies like "oh you just can't do it" or "it's not worth the trouble," assuming I'd die if I couldn't get this shot, how would you do it?