Photo

Bauer c8 camera + 9 Kodachrome 40 Cartridges, vale?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Jo Heeley

Jo Heeley

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other

Posted 02 October 2008 - 11:38 AM

Hi Guys, i wander if anyone can help me out by letting me know the general value of a Bauer Super C8 camera, plus 9 Kodachrome 40 cartridges,...this was given to me by an elderly relative who has no clue to the value, i am a musician and have no use for it, was thinking of ebay but i am not sure of a reasonable price, or of course if anyone on the forum wants to make an offer please do so
cheers
jominks@yahoo.co.uk
:blink:

#2 Michael Waite

Michael Waite
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Other
  • Sydney, Australia

Posted 03 October 2008 - 07:53 AM

If selling on ebay I would list the camera & film separately.

The interest in the film will depend on the expiry date & how it was stored. If expiry was the last few years & it was kept in a fridge then you might get $20 per roll. When I hear "elderly relative" I think of stuff that hasn't been used since the 1970s. If the film is that old it will probably process with a magenta cast. That's assuming it's the modern Kodachrome that can still be processed. The expiry date should be on the boxes.

I don't know anything about the Bauer cameras but there are people on this forum far more knowledgeable about Super 8 than me & they should be able to help. The important thing I look for when buying a camera from ebay or whatever is how informed the seller is about it. Top marks go to someone who guarantees that the camera is in good working order & has been shooting film with it recently & getting good exposures. The other end of the scale is the person selling on behalf of the elderly relative & who knows nothing about the gear. In this case it is a wild gamble to buy it & hope it is functional, so I would only pay a very low amount.