#1 Chris Durkee

Chris Durkee

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Producer

Posted 09 October 2008 - 01:27 AM

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum. I have been a videographer/editor for a couple years now, just doing freelance work and my own short films.

I finally have the resources and ability to get some new equipment. I am currently shooting SD on a DVX100.

I am looking for advice for a all around equipment (lights, sound, tripods, etc.) to jump start my production company. I want to go HD and will mainly be shooting Documentary work and some short films stuff.

What would you recommend on a 20,000 dollar budget??

If you have any other questions feel free to ask.

Thanks for your advice.

In short if you had 20,000 dollars and was looking to start a small production company, what would you start of buying?

#2 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 09 October 2008 - 09:43 AM

Well, $20,000 isn't really going to go very far, particularly with HD.

I guess my question to you is, if you're starting a "production company," are you really starting a company or just trying to sell yourself as a "Full service" guy?

The difference is this: If you're looking to be a freelance Cameraman/Editor/Producer, then you'll have to look toward what kinds of projects and clients you really want to work for. How "high end" or "low end" do you intend to be? To work for clients who do high end work means shooting at the level of HDCAM which mean having grip/lighting equipment that will run you between $3,000 and $5,000 and a camera package that will cost upwards of $80,000.