New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student
  • Sacramento,CA

Posted 26 October 2008 - 12:16 PM

Hey fellas,

As the title states, i finally got my hands on a couple Super 8 cameras.

- Kodak M4 Instamatic

- Canon 814 Autozoom

Both of these cameras are pretty much in mint condition and been tested with batteries. They both are in working order. Ive been reading online about how they work, history, film care..pretty much the basics, but i was left with one questioned unanswered.

Brace yourself for a total noob question...

What kind of film can i use for these cams?

Ive seen Ektachrome 64T 7280, Vision 2 200T, Plus-x Reversal 7265 and the list goes on.

If this was posted in the wrong place, please point me in the right direction.
Thanks alot.

#2 Ira Ratner

Ira Ratner
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Other
  • Coral Springs, Florida

Posted 26 October 2008 - 03:01 PM

Look here:

http://www.spectrafi...o.com/Film.html

#3 Ed Tapia

Ed Tapia

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student
  • Sacramento,CA

Posted 26 October 2008 - 07:26 PM

So all the films under the Super 8 list are compatible??

Edited by Ed Tapia, 26 October 2008 - 07:28 PM.

#4 Ira Ratner

Ira Ratner
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Other
  • Coral Springs, Florida

Posted 27 October 2008 - 06:15 AM

Yep. You have Super 8 cartridge cameras, right?

#5 Ian Cooper

Ian Cooper
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 469 posts
  • Other
  • England

Posted 27 October 2008 - 07:25 AM

Yep. You have Super 8 cartridge cameras, right?

Just be aware that not all cameras are capable of automatically detecting the full range of film speeds. Not much fun when the common speeds they can sense aren't available anymore!

I don't know the details about the Kodak (although have my doubts it can correctly identify current film stocks),