#1 Nick Centera

Nick Centera
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • 2nd Assistant Camera
  • San Diego

Posted 28 October 2008 - 12:50 AM

I am new to film and was wondering if there was a leader at the end of a roll of film. I know there is a leader at the beginning of the roll so you can feed it through the camera, but what about once the roll is finished. Is the top layer of the take up film you shot, or is there a leader? If it is the film you shot, would you have to take the take up out in a black bag and put it in the can? Thanks a lot.
-Nick

#2 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 28 October 2008 - 01:10 AM

On a roll of factory 16mm film there is no leader on either end. It is all 'exposable' film. There is 400 feet of film on a 2" core. There is a piece of tape about 1/4" wide and 2 or 3 inches long holding the end down.

All of that is in a black bag in the can.

Edited by Chris Keth, 28 October 2008 - 01:11 AM.

#3 Brian Pritchard

Brian Pritchard
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 328 posts
  • Other
  • Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 28 October 2008 - 03:36 AM

On a roll of factory 16mm film there is no leader on either end. It is all 'exposable' film. There is 400 feet of film on a 2" core. There is a piece of tape about 1/4" wide and 2 or 3 inches long holding the end down.

All of that is in a black bag in the can.

What Chris says is true but I seem to remember from my days when I worked at Kodak that each roll had what was called a 'customer allowance'; that is an additional length of film that allowed for lacing up. It was also to emilinate handling marks etc on the front and end of rolls. I think that this was 10ft. It might be that this was only on film wound on camera spools.

You could tell by checking the edge numbers on a roll of exposed film. I will try to rmember to do this when I am next in the lab.

Brian

#4 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams