#1 Enzo Blonde

Enzo Blonde

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 05 November 2008 - 03:35 PM

Hello everyone, I am a student working on my thesis which is a short film. I've been eager shoot a film in the old Western and Spaghetti Western style, however this is where I get stuck. I've been trying to do some research on what the characteristics of Western Cinematography are, and really there is not that much research on anything other than plot. So hopefully I can get some feedback from you guys on what some critical points of Western Cinematography are.

Thanks in advance,
Blondie

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19761 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 05 November 2008 - 06:33 PM

Of all the film genres, in some respects, Westerns contain some of the widest range of cinematography movements -- probably because it is also one of the oldest film genres. You have color and b&w Westerns, widescreen and square-screen Westerns, dark & contrasty, blown-out & washed-out, you have Technicolor-hued movies like "Duel in the Sun" and "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon" and very desaturated Westerns like "Heaven's Gate" and "McCabe & Mrs. Miller". You have sharp ones and diffused ones. Ones with high-key lighting and ones with very soft lighting. Stage-bound and on location.

The look of the Spaghetti Westerns is sort of unique, not indicative of all Westerns.