Joseph Barnett

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 05 November 2008 - 06:01 PM

HI,

I normaly shoot coverage so I am quite new to lighting, so any advice you can give me would be hugely helpful.

Im shooting three short set peices with a locked of camera (objects on fire) with the intention of projecting these 1:1 in site specific locations. Each film will be a household objects on fire set against a large white purpose built fake wall. im looking for quite a clean flooded difused look. The end result esentialy needs to look like a white poster, with the objects on fire + graphics txt etc.

What would be a good set up to shoot this? if you can give names for the lights that would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance,

Joe

#2 David Rakoczy

David Rakoczy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1579 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • USA

Posted 05 November 2008 - 06:51 PM

Sounds like a famous Pink Floyd Album Cover...

Shoot the Fire at 4 - 5.6 on 100t. Light the White Cyc to 3 Stops (Reflected) Over... and make sure the 'Object' has plenty of Fill.

Use 1/2 CTBlue on all your lamps and your (Color Chart) if you want a 'Redder' Fire... or use HMIs (5500) for even 'Redder-er' Fire.

Edited by David Rakoczy, 05 November 2008 - 06:55 PM.

#3 Daniel Porto

Daniel Porto
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts
  • Student

Posted 05 November 2008 - 07:28 PM

Sounds like a famous Pink Floyd Album Cover...

Shoot the Fire at 4 - 5.6 on 100t. Light the White Cyc to 3 Stops (Reflected) Over... and make sure the 'Object' has plenty of Fill.

Use 1/2 CTBlue on all your lamps and your (Color Chart) if you want a 'Redder' Fire... or use HMIs (5500) for even 'Redder-er' Fire.

So are you sugesting that in post you correct the fill (which is either 1/2 CTB, or HMI color temp) as white to produce the redness in the fire. If so, it might just be easier to buy a filter which converts half way (is it the 81B???) or use an 85.