#1 Spencer Hutchins

Spencer Hutchins
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 06 November 2008 - 02:35 PM

Although I don't think many would see this movie as groundbreaking cinematography, I did however enjoy the exterior scenes in which the muted colors and over exposed skies were utilized. Picture_2.jpg

Also, specifically in the scene where Gerard Butler is running from the over zealous Russians, there's a very...gritty, realistic? feel to it. Picture_1.jpg

Being that I am still a student, and haven't worked all that much with film I was curious of professionals opinions about how both of these were achieved. Was it indeed all about the secrets to cinematography and specifics Mr. Higgs did as far as stock, camera, lighting? Or was it just a great collaboration with those departments meshed with art direction, wardrobe and make-up?

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Edited by Spencer Hutchins, 06 November 2008 - 02:39 PM.

#2 Stephen Murphy

Stephen Murphy
  • Guests

Posted 06 November 2008 - 03:04 PM

Was it indeed all about the secrets to cinematography and specifics Mr. Higgs did as far as stock, camera, lighting?

this was shot on the Arri D20

#3 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 06 November 2008 - 04:37 PM

What i find most interesting is that IMDB for this film considered the D-20 "HDV."

As for how it looks; i would say a combo of lighting/location, and color correction. I mean, look t your 2nd shot there, if he was wearing a red shirt, the shot would be; well, shot.

#4 Spencer Hutchins

Spencer Hutchins
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 06 November 2008 - 05:20 PM