Photo

Nizo Professional Super8 Camera - remove internal filter?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jamie Broughton

Jamie Broughton

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Other

Posted 21 December 2008 - 05:47 PM

Hi. I have a Nizo Pro Super 8 camera, which I'm keen to use to learn about cinematography.

I've already shot a wedding party (outside a church) using Kodak Ektachrome 64T, which came out pretty well in mildly sunny conditions. However, given the cut down Super8 versions of modern Fuji/Kodak film stocks you can get from the likes of Pro8mm etc., I wonder if I should get the internal plastic filter removed from the camera, so I can get the best out of them?

I'm new to shooting film, so if I do remove the filter, could somebody advise me what the main filters are that I'll need for the camera? I've been reading about neutral density and 85A and 85B ones, so I assume these are the ones referred to by the film companies? Also, is there is a basic light meter someone could recommend as well? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jamie
London, UK

#2 Ira Ratner

Ira Ratner
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Other
  • Coral Springs, Florida

Posted 21 December 2008 - 06:10 PM

I don't know anything about that camera, but if you have an internal filter, I wouldn't screw with it at the beginning.

Removing it is not really going to make your camera any faster, MAYBE 1/2 a stop. Plus, it might be integral to how the lens focuses.

Does that camera have a light meter and lens apertures that you can adjust? Or does it just have a setting for the ASA film you're using, and there's no way to read or adjust anything?

We'll get into the ND and 85 filters later, but first things first.

#3 Matthew Buick

Matthew Buick
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2345 posts
  • Student
  • Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.

Posted 21 December 2008 - 06:11 PM

Hi Jamie.