Photo

Advice for "breaking the ice" with a local production co.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Brian Rose

Brian Rose
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Student
  • Kansas City area

Posted 05 January 2009 - 01:13 PM

Hello all,

I'll be graduating from film school in May with my masters, and I've begun looking for potential places to work (or intern) after I'm done. I'm from the Kansas City area, which is a pretty good production area. And since I have family here, I can live cheap, which is good in this economy.

Anyways, there is a production company that I think would be PERFECT for me, and one to which I think I can contribute a lot. It specializes in history films, specifically Civil War films. As an undergrad I majored in history, and my emphasis was on Civil War and Antebellum history. I love studying it, in addition to my passion for film making and cinematography. Hence why I think it would be a great match for me, and one in which I could make a valuable contribution.

And that's what scares me, ironically. I want to make a good impression. I feel that I've got a good resume; I've been active in festivals, as well as history scholarship; my documentaries have won some awards, and my thesis film deals with slavery and pre-Civil war history. My demo reel will emphasize my work interviewing historians, as well as my skills working on location, using steadicam. What leaves me at a loss is: How do I break the ice? How do I get my resume/demo reel in their hands? How do I make a good impression so that they take me seriously.

I'm just not sure how to start. Do I call? Write a letter? Just send them my reel in a mail? Walk in?