#1 Andy Jaro

Andy Jaro

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 05 January 2009 - 08:37 PM

Do you absolutely need to go to film school in in order to become a cinematographer? Is it possible to do it the hard way and work up from PA?

I say this because the decision is soon coming. I know a lot about the art and have always been a hands-on learner. I could learn so much more in a week on a movie set then in a semester of school. I've taken in interest in it since I was about 13. I've read many many books, shot many shorts, bought much gear. I thoroughly understand the concepts and have applied them for my own projects. Obviously I'm just a lowly student, though. I love it all so much, it's just I hate the school environment. Everything in society tells you "Go to college or you'll end up homeless." And I don't want either. How did you guys get started?

Thanks!

Edited by Andy Jaro, 05 January 2009 - 08:41 PM.

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 05 January 2009 - 09:05 PM

If you're only 18, going to college and getting a bachelor's degree isn't such a bad thing in general, not only for expanding your knowledge in a wide range of areas (which will make you a more well-rounded citizen and artist) but it can help with applying for certain jobs over the years, especially if the film industry career doesn't pan out.

No, it's not essential for becoming a cinematographer, though my career advanced at first because of industry connections I formed at film school. It's a useful intermediate stage, especially if you are a film student in a production friendly city.