Photo

what are good cinematographic movies to see for studying?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Carly Crocker

Carly Crocker

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Other
  • CA

Posted 18 January 2009 - 01:44 PM

I am a beginner and I am wondering what movies are good to watch for exaples of good cinematography?
-I have seen days of heaven and the beginning of Manhatten.

What other ones are good?

Please and thank you
~Carly

#2 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 18 January 2009 - 03:13 PM

Hi, Carly.

You're probably about to get deluged with lists of movies, which undoubtedly look great for lots of reasons, but just watching a movie isn't necessarily going to "teach" you anything about it.

To really learn from a movie, you'd have to have other information about it available or access to the people who were there making it. You can sit and be "wowed" by pretty movies, or you can find the information (if it exists) so you can learn from them too.

So take those inevitable lists, and before you sit down to start watching any of the films, search through the archives of magazines and websites and books that might have interviews with the DPs and others who were there.

Unfortunately, those in charge of deciding the content on DVDs don't think the public cares about the technical aspects of what it takes to make a movie, particularly the cinematography (unless it is tied to VFX), so DVD "extras" are mostly a waste of time.

Here is a list of resources for you to take a look at as you decide which movies you can learn from:

Local600forum.com A forum by, for and about Motion Picture Professionals