sun light creating

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 montaser abou saada

montaser abou saada
  • Guests

Posted 22 January 2009 - 12:39 PM

hello , its my first time here in this amazing website , am shooting a short movie on 35 mm , and we are shooting in a big studio full of equipments , (from 200 w HMI to 4 K HMI ) , in a big numbers , the living room is a 6 by 6 (METER ) , with a 2 windows ( i will use thim as a key ) ... and there is a door in a front of them .
we planing for buelding the set , but i can control alot of things about the (windows , walls , size of the room ,..ets ) .. and am shooting kodak 500 T ..
so i have some qustions :

1 wiche is the best way to use the HMI as a sun light coming from the 2 windows ? with a shiner of cours ... i need the window to blow out but not so much , i just need to clean out the details outside ..can i put a difusion on the windows ? if yes wiche kind ?

2 the light will hit the shiner and will pass a 6 Meters to the end of the room and hit the door wich the actor will open it and walk inside the room , i'll pan with him and ill see all the room ...
so the question is : if i take a reading from the door and shooting on it , is the shiner going to blow out ? or is there going to be an OVEREXPOSIOR near the windows and this part of the room ?

3 , can i use a light box , and put a golden reflector inside of it and then put it on the window and shine 4 K HMI lets say inside of it ?

4 all the HMI i mentiond is MADE IN FRANCE , not ARRI , and it soo old by model not by using , so shell i go and use it or rent something from ARRI ?

5 if you were me , and u have most of option's what wold you DO !?

its my first time as DP and am happy , and i know most of what i asked is silly questions but i need to be sure ..

thanks everybody ,,, and sorry my bad english ...
CHEERS

#2 Frederico Beja

Frederico Beja

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Director
  • North Hollywood, CA