#1 Jen Harvey

Jen Harvey

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 07 February 2009 - 01:46 PM

Hi, I'm new to super 8s & forums so apologies if I do anything wrong. I recently bought a Chinon 672 autozoom classic for £5. It's in a beautiful condition but came with no instruction manual and I have no idea what sort of film it takes. I've tried internet searching but as I know nothing about super 8s I've found nothing out. I have found the batteries in the USA that should work in it but other than that, nothing. I would really appreciate any information and help with this as I would like to start filming in a month.

Thank you!!

#2 andy oliver

andy oliver
  • Sustaining Members
  • 258 posts
  • Other
  • uk

Posted 07 February 2009 - 05:09 PM

Hi, chinon 672 dates from 1974-79 ish, i'm guessing that your camera will only acept the discontinued kodachrome 40 and ektachrome 160 kodak super 8 stocks... If your camera has manual exposure then try kodaks 64t stock.. If you camera lacks manual exposure over ride then run a cartridge of fuji 50d thru, available from here http://www.spectrafi...o.com/Film.html remembering to cancel the daylight/tungsten filter.. Think you need to obtain a manual for your camera to confim its specs, hopefully more people on here will help too... Here are a couple of site to get you started http://www.filmshoot...i...l&Itemid=62 http://homepage.mac.com/onsuper8/
before starting your super 8 project, make sure you run a test film thru your camera, it could save you time and money.......

good luck

#3 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 07 February 2009 - 05:53 PM