bob black

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other

Posted 10 February 2009 - 07:51 AM

Hi all,

Im a photographer very new to super8, I purchased a Canon Autozoom 814 and 10 cartridges of Kodak Vision3 500T/7219 for a project. So now Im sitting in a remote area in Asia and finally got around to reading the manual! I notice this camera is not compatible with film speeds higher than 250 ASA, am I screwed? I cant get any other film where I am.

I was planning on shooting in 'auto'. Does this mean my film will be underexposed? Does the negative have the dynamic range to accurately compensate for the underexposure? Can the lab push the exposure to bring it out? Will this result in more grain? Am I just freaking out over nothing? :)

Sorry for all the questions, any help would be very appreciated

Many thanks in advance

B

#2 David Auner aac

David Auner aac
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 10 February 2009 - 08:19 AM

Im a photographer very new to super8, I purchased a Canon Autozoom 814 and 10 cartridges of Kodak Vision3 500T/7219 for a project. So now Im sitting in a remote area in Asia and finally got around to reading the manual! I notice this camera is not compatible with film speeds higher than 250 ASA, am I screwed? I cant get any other film where I am.

I was planning on shooting in 'auto'. Does this mean my film will be underexposed? Does the negative have the dynamic range to accurately compensate for the underexposure? Can the lab push the exposure to bring it out? Will this result in more grain? Am I just freaking out over nothing? :)

Hi Bob,