Steve Absalom
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Student
  • Baltimore, MD USA

Posted 10 February 2009 - 04:00 PM

Hi there.

This is my first time shooting on film and as the camera belongs to the University I go to and we are only allowed to touch it on the day of our scheduled shoots, I do not have the option of shooting what I am told is called a "test roll."
I am intersted in seeing what a bleach bypass would look like on 16mm film. I have seen famous examples from movies shot in 35mm (or what I assume was 35mm) like Saving Private Ryan, but I was wonder just how different it would look in 16mm. I assume it would look a lot worse, more grain and all that.

I was thinking I could shoot on a lower speed film so that it would be a better quality image and since I read that shooting with the intention of doing a bleach bypass requires you to be underexposed one stop, using low speed film would naturally be underexposed, I think.

I'm new it this. Can anyone offer suggestions and maybe even visual examples?

I'm shooting a very short film that 98% of it takes place in a basement during a band's rehearsal. I'm going for very low-key lighting for dramatic effect as well as aiming for the bleach bypass to enhance the gritty, raw feel to it- the story calls for the band to break up rather dramtically and I thought it would work nicely for the whole atmosphere.

#2 Saul Rodgar

Saul Rodgar
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1682 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 10 February 2009 - 05:08 PM

If you look at my reel, from 0:43 to 1:02, that is all BB S16 7217.

View on Vimeo