#1 Brent Curran

Brent Curran

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 28 February 2009 - 04:04 PM

Im a student that has to make a video documentary as a graduation project. Ive looked all over the web for different cameras and stuff. This looks like the cheapest model that films in HD and has some professional features like other cameras.

http://www.sonystyle...ductId=11034787

Is this perfect for someone on a small budget that only needs video quality like ...maybe the local HD news channel...or is there a cheaper alternative that may give me the same looking videos?

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 01 March 2009 - 06:15 AM

On the low-end they're all pretty similar. I would recommend looking for something with 1/3" chips as opposed to 1/4", but that's just me. You could look into used cameras, like a Sony Z1U, which I've used before and liked a good deal, though I doubt you'll find anything cheaper than 2000. If I were you, though, perhaps it would be better to buy a higher-end camera and then just sell it at the end of the project. Might not make all your money back... but you could probably get a better resale price on a higher-ticket item .

#3 Brent Curran

Brent Curran

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 01 March 2009 - 10:25 AM

If I buy or lease anything its something that I'm going to keep for filming random events. I'm still unsure if I should go HD, all I need is something that gives me a nice wide screen DVD quality. On the other hand if I go up to the HD level that will kinda future proof it when BluRay drives come down in price. $2000 is the limit new or used.

#4 Evan Ferrario

Evan Ferrario
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Director

Posted 27 April 2009 - 08:31 PM