#1 Steven Boldt

Steven Boldt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Student
  • Milwaukee

Posted 06 March 2009 - 03:44 PM

I'm just getting started with a Nizo 3048 and when I film it runs down after about 5-8 seconds. The batteries should be good. It just gradually runs down.

#2 andy oliver

andy oliver
  • Sustaining Members
  • 258 posts
  • Other
  • uk

Posted 07 March 2009 - 12:37 PM

:unsure: not to sure what you mean by running down, one thing for sure, those dreaded 4 digit series nizo camera, ie, 4056, 6080, etc, have a rubber internal drive band that stretches over time, rendering the camera useless. ( unless you know of a repairer ). Does your claw and or centre drive core operate??. Its been a long time, i cant remember whether that drive belt operates the claw, centre core gear or both... It could be your belt has become worn/stretched...
Andy

#3 Steven Boldt

Steven Boldt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Student
  • Milwaukee

Posted 07 March 2009 - 04:13 PM

I think the batteries needed a good long charge. It seems to be O.K. now. I'm looking at other cameras because I don't like the design of the XXXX series Nizos."Dreaded". That's about it, LOL.

#4 andy oliver

andy oliver
  • Sustaining Members
  • 258 posts
  • Other
  • uk

Posted 08 March 2009 - 08:03 AM

:unsure: ooops, didn't realise you were using rechargable batts, assumed you were using fresh alkalines....

#5 Steven Boldt

Steven Boldt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Student
  • Milwaukee

Posted 08 March 2009 - 02:11 PM

When I put in some Alkalines just for a second to test the camera the light indicators in the view-finder were much brighter than with the NiCd batteries. I would say don't use 1.5V alkalines in the camera if it calls for 1.2V NiCds. It's too much of a difference in voltage and will cause problems down the road.