#1 Dave Brunelle

Dave Brunelle

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 09 March 2009 - 06:48 PM

Hey, I'm a newb to the forum. I'm shooting on an arri sr2 and I'm looking for a 16mm stock that will work in the desert, I was thinking maybe 50D and 250D, I'd rather not use filters so I don't think tungsten will be an option

also should I be over-exposing by 2/3 of a stop to reduce grain? and print down during development?

side note: any idea how loud the SR2 is while filming?

#2 David Rakoczy

David Rakoczy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1579 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • USA

Posted 09 March 2009 - 07:45 PM

Any Film Stock can be 'good' in the desert.... let's start at the beginning.. what do you want your image to look like?

btw... I wouldn't let a Tungsten Balance Film stump you as you will (should) be using Filters for day ext work.. what is the difference in putting in a ND 3, 6 or 9... or an 85ND 3, 6 or 9?

May I recommend the book FILM LIGHTING

#3 Dave Brunelle

Dave Brunelle

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 09 March 2009 - 08:48 PM

We can definitely use filters, we're not the most experienced with film, so keeping the look of the shots constant is very important for us, as for lighting, everything will be shot during the day with the sun directly above. Only a few shots will be in the morning and at night.

I guess a better way of asking the question would most likely be should we use 50D or 100-200T with ND filters?

For the look, we want a good amount of color saturation, but we mainly want to keep the colors pretty realistic. Since we're shooting a lot of wide open shots with mountains and scenery, it's important to get the reds/oranges but keep the beige sand looking real.

#4 David Rakoczy

David Rakoczy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1579 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • USA

Posted 09 March 2009 - 08:52 PM