Anne Winter

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Other

Posted 09 March 2009 - 07:46 PM

Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new to the art of Cinematography and have been asked at short notice to shoot on S16mm this weekend. I have used the camera before and have assisted on a few student productions but I have a couple of areas I am not clear on.

1. The film is ideally to be screened from a 16mm print however it will also be put on to DVD in order to be sent out to festivals etc. I am unsure whether to shoot at 24fps or 25fps. I think that the 24fps would work out best for the film print and make it easier to sync up the sound but perhaps if it will be seen on DVD initially it might be best to shoot at 25fps?

2. I have the use of a L-608 Cine for the duration of the shoot. I know that for the most part F Stops and T stops are interchangable however the light meter I have only allows me to measure in F stops. If I wanted to work out the difference or loss of exposure should I for example go from a prime lens to a Zoom lens while in the same set up and wanted to keep the same exposure how would I work out the diffrence between the T Stop and the F Stop?

I do apologise if my questions seem ignorant. I have a few books with me on the subject and cannot find a definitive answer. I really appreciate any imput anyone has into these questions.

Thank you in advance.

Anne.

#2 Michael Collier

Michael Collier
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1262 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 09 March 2009 - 07:53 PM

I would shoot 24 fps. Assuming your in NTSC land, or more importantly the festivals you want to submit to are in NTSC parts of the world. Also with 24fps, it can be dealt with to make it work in 25fps pal, so don't choose based on DVD submissions.