Mukti Krishan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 31 March 2009 - 09:57 AM

Hi,

I am a student at a film school in India.The course started only 2months ago and we are expected to make a 3min short film putting into practice the basics we have learnt.Mmy story is about a couple who work different shifts and who plan to take acertain day off to spend time with each other.My plan is to execute this through VO's.
We have had only one class on 3point lighting.Beins just a continuity exercise with location and time limits,I get only the afternoon to shoot this.The location would be one of the classrooms I'd have to transform into a room of a house.Now,my query is how do I create day and night convincingly in that room.We are allowed to use only 2 chinese lamps.
Any ideas about how I could execute this effectively in 4hours?Btw.we are shooting with a sony Z1P.

look forward to all suggestions.

thanks .

#2 Mike Lary

Mike Lary
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Other

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:18 PM

Please use your full name as your user name per the forum rules.

Now,my query is how do I create day and night convincingly in that room.We are allowed to use only 2 chinese lamps.
Any ideas about how I could execute this effectively in 4hours?Btw.we are shooting with a sony Z1P.

If you have enough sunlight coming in through the windows you could use sun as your key and put daylight balanced bulbs in the lamps and use them for fill, maybe place some foamcore boards and bounce the light. If the sunlight is too harsh, a low budget solution is to put tracing paper on the windows to diffuse the light.

For the night aesthetic I would cover the windows (pull the shades and tape / ND / cover with trash bags any areas where light is spilling through) and set the color balance on the camera to make your lamps appear warm.

#3 Mukti Krishan

Mukti Krishan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student